

August 19, 2020

Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson 2306 Rayburn Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Ranking Member Frank Lucas 2405 Rayburn Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairwoman Johnson and Ranking Member Lucas:

The National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO) wishes to thank the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science, Space, and Technology for your leadership in approving a suite of bills that will advance the security, resiliency, and economic opportunity associated with our Nation's energy infrastructure.

NASEO is especially supportive of H.R. 5428, the Grid Modernization Research and Development Act, which embraces the critical role of state and local partners in advancing grid resilience, emergency response, and smart grid technology deployment. The 56 governor-designated energy officials from the states, territories, and District of Columbia play critical roles in the advancement of technology research and development, demonstration, commercialization, and market deployment at the state and local level in support of energy security, economic development, and job creation. Since their creation in the 1970s, the work of State Energy Offices has opened markets for solar, land-based and offshore wind, battery and storage, electric vehicle, and carbon capture and storage technologies, in coordination with federal agencies, state regulatory entities, and partners in academia, research, and industry.

We are also appreciative of H.R. 34, H.R. 3597, H.R. 4230, and H.R. 5760, which require a level of coordination with state and local governments. We stand ready to work with members of the Committee to enhance the state role in these and other bills that they have authored. We support full House action to approve these bills during this congressional session.

Thank you for your consideration, and please do not hesitate to contact NASEO General Counsel Jeff Genzer (jcg@dwgp.com) or me, NASEO Executive Director David Terry (dterry@naseo.org) with questions or for more information.

Sincerely,

David Terry, NASEO Executive Director

1300 North 17th Street Suite 1275 Arlington, Virginia 22209

Telephone: 703.299.8800 www.naseo.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Chai

ANDREW MCALLISTER California

Vice Chair

KELLEY SMITH BURK Florida

Treasurer

MOLLY CRIPPS Tennessee

Secretary

JOHN WILLIAMS New York

Past Chair

ROBERT JACKSON Michigan

Parliamentarian

JASON LANCLOS Louisiana

Regional Representatives

DAN BURGESS Maine

PATRICK WOODCOCK Massachusetts

DAVE ALTHOFF Pennsylvania

MARY BETH TUNG Maryland

MITCHELL SIMPSON Arkansas

SUMESH ARORA Mississippi

MICHELLE GRANSEE Minnesota

CHAD KRUSE Illinois

WILL TOOR Colorado

JOE FRANCIS Nebraska

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

JOHN CHATBURN Idaho

Affiliates' Co-Chairs

ELIZABETH BEARDSLEY
U.S. Green Buildings Council

MATTHEW MORRISSEY Ørsted

Executive Director

DAVID TERRY

General Counsel

JEFFREY C. GENZER