

February 20, 2020

The Honorable Lisa Murkowski
Committee on Energy and Natural
Resources
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Joe Manchin Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Subject: NASEO Support for S. 2137, S. 2094, S.2095, S.983

Dear Chairman Murkowski and Ranking Member Manchin:

The National Association of State Energy Officials (NASEO) expresses our strong support for the inclusion of the *Energy Savings and Industrial Competitiveness Act of 2019* (S. 2137) in a Murkowski-Manchin bipartisan energy legislative package. In particular, Sections 101 and 102 of S. 2137 provide significant energy-cost saving benefits to homeowners and businesses, and we encourage their inclusion.

For decades, states have worked to advance cost-effective building energy efficiency through state building energy code decision making, incentives, and voluntary efforts. Sections 101 and 102 of S. 2137 build on these achievements through a U.S. Department of Energy process to identify energy savings targets and by authorizing a grant program to assist homebuilders, states, and local governments in pursuing code compliance and training activities. These sections also defer to the unique role that is reserved for states in code adoption.

We also hope for and encourage the inclusion of several other bills in your important, bipartisan legislative package. As previously communicated to the Committee, NASEO's 56 State and Territory members strongly support the Enhancing State Energy Security Planning and Emergency Preparedness Act (S. 2094); Enhancing Grid Security through Public-Private Partnerships Act (S. 2095); and Weatherization Enhancement and Local Energy Efficiency Investment and Accountability Act (S. 983). The energy security measures contained in S. 2094 and S.2095 are critical to improving the physical and cyber security of our energy system and do so in ways that bolster the federal-state-private sector partnership that all states endorse. In tandem with S. 2137 and S. 983, these bills substantially strengthen the states' continued work in advancing practical and state-driven solutions for energy security and energy efficiency.

Respectfully,

David Terry,

Executive Director, NASEO

cc: State Energy Officials

1300 North 17th Street Suite 1275 Arlington, Virginia 22209

Telephone: 703.299.8800 www.naseo.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Chair

ANDREW MCALLISTER
California

Vice Chair

KELLEY SMITH BURK Florida

Treasurer

MOLLY CRIPPS
Tennessee

Secretary

JOHN WILLIAMS New York

Past Chair

ROBERT JACKSON Michigan

Parliamentarian

JASON LANCLOS

Regional Representatives

DAN BURGESS

PATRICK WOODCOCK
Massachusetts

DAVE ALTHOFF Pennsylvania

MARY BETH TUNG

MITCHELL SIMPSON Arkansas

MICHELLE GRANSEE Minnesota

CHAD KRUSE
Illinois

WILL TOOR Colorado

JOE FRANCIS Nebraska

MICHAEL FURZE Washington

JOHN CHATBURN

Executive Director

DAVID TERRY

General Counsel
JEFFREY C. GENZER