Nine East Coast States Sign Offshore Wind MOU with Federal Government

Source: RL Martin

On September 21, 2023, the White House announced that nine East Coast states (Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island) and four Federal agencies (the U.S. Departments of Energy, the Interior, Commerce, and Transportation) signed an agreement to strengthen regional collaboration on offshore wind supply chain development. The agreement will help expand manufacturing facilities, port capabilities, workforce development, and other key supply chain elements in a coordinated and sustainable way. The states will develop sub-regional implementation plans and the Federal agencies will provide technical support and help develop a shared East Coast procurement and leasing timeline to facilitate greater alignment. There will be significant collaboration to address supply chain needs for offshore wind, advance quality jobs and community benefits, and incentivize the development of offshore wind vessels and domestic steel production. The complete Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) can be found here. This effort will support actions outlined in the recently released Atlantic Offshore Wind Transmission Action Plan developed by the U.S. Departments of Energy and U.S. Department of the Interior. The plan lays out steps to collaborate across jurisdictions on transmission planning, technological development, economic support, and siting and permitting. It was informed by a series of stakeholder convenings and an ongoing study of different buildout scenarios. The Action Plan was released on September 19, 2023, and can be found here.